Slippage

In the first draft of a scene in Cross-Country Flying, the third-person narration changes to first person.  In some cases this might cause a writer to think the whole story should be written in first person.  I wrote a book once where that happened over and over again, for long passages, and I did end up changing the whole thing to first person.  (The Absent Woman.) 

But today, I look on the slippage as a first-draft occurrence and a good sign that I was deep into the character’s mind.  When I went back to revise, I changed all the “I” references to “she,” and I’m going to leave them that way.

Holland House Books

Literary Fiction

Orla McAlinden Author

Accidental writer? The Accidental Wife, available now on http://amzn.to/2csjFX2 and by contacting me here or at https://www.facebook.com/armaghbigread2017/

Marlene Lee

Writing From Where I Live

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

