Conflict

On West 107th between Broadway and Amsterdam there is a neighborhood Catholic Church whose doors are almost always open.  This morning (Sunday) I heard a familiar hymn as I walked by.  Protestants and Catholics don’t always sing the same hymns, but this one I recognized from my Methodist upbringing.  I followed a Southeast Asian couple (Indian? Pakistani?) up the shallow steps.  From the back of the church I saw Hispanics, Westerners, and an African couple in native dress.  Up the aisle came a short procession of two altar boys and a priest, singing heartily.  The priest pronounced his words in an Irish brogue.  I moved out of their way, closer to the pews.  What surprised me was the emotion I felt.  I loved the congregation, the song, the Irish priest and his singing.  I loved the sacred space and the stained-glass windows.  This is just a little church, not far from Columbia University, not far from Harlem, sparsely attended.  How I loved everything about it — until I heard the prayer and the name of Jesus and the words of an embarrassing tribal God and his Son.  (See?  I still capitalize “Son.”)

I love the nostalgic return to Sunday worship.  Oh, what is a nonbeliever to do when confronted by so much beauty embedded in religion?  How is one supposed to ignore the havoc religion wreaks?

Holland House Books

Literary Fiction

Orla McAlinden Author

Accidental writer? The Accidental Wife, available now on http://amzn.to/2csjFX2 and by contacting me here or at https://www.facebook.com/armaghbigread2017/

Marlene Lee

Writing From Where I Live

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

